Ohhhhh, it’s been a while!

headshot1FB

And it’s been crazy!

However; I’m updating because I said that I was going to share the journey. I haven’t. I’ve been figuring out which road this journey would be best suited to use. It’s been fun and tricky and scary and exciting.

And now that I’ve shared all the adjectives of the journey. Let me say that those are the EXACT adjectives to describe how I feel right at this very moment. I’m getting a studio.

Tomorrow.

Yep. I pick up the keys tomorrow. It’s my last day with no studio. Let me back up and fill ya in. So…I’d been looking ALL OVER THE PLACE for a studio. I’d talked to builders, I’d talked to people an hour away from my home…I’d looked, I’d searched, I had people tell me crazy prices, I had one guy who wanted me to meet his parents, I had good prices but across the street from another photographer, I had sharing offers, I thought I’d seen it all. I’d looked East and West and South.

Not north. I live north. I live FAR north. I’m close to Dallas(ish) but far enough that people’s eyes widen when I tell them where I live. I get “ohhhhhh wowwww…….” so looking FURTHER north didn’t even seem reasonable. The only time *I* go further north is to go to Oklahoma (which is closer to me than Dallas) or to pick up my grandkids to take them to gymnastics….See where I’m going here?

Yep…every time it was gymnastics day, I’d pass this little town, one town north, and pass a great little spot….that was for rent. A couple of weeks ago, I got done a bit early from a shoot, so I drove by again to get the number. I pulled in, and called. The guy answered and said he was there so I could come look! I explained to him what I wanted. What I NEEDED. He kept shaking his head “no” as I looked in awe at what could be MY space. He finally said “Kid, this isn’t it. I’ve got a space you’ll like better…can you follow me and I’ll show you?” Sure.

So he takes me to Main street in this little town…to the City Hall and the Police Station. (I’m not kidding.) He says they’re moving out at the end of the month. Rent is cheap. It’d be all mine. We looked around (awkwardly. don’t ever try and look around a police station and city hall and think it’s going to be easy…it’s NOT).

Fast forward….I’ve signed a lease, I’ve gotten a business bank account, I’ve gotten a DBA…I’ve gotten so I can take credit cards, I have a certificate of occupancy and inspections scheduled and have paid deposits and fees and “stuff” that I didn’t even know I’d have to pay! LOL! All to lead up to tomorrow. My own place. MY STUDIO. A new town. New faces. New team colors. I feel like I’m jumping off a cliff and seeing what happens.

Yep…fun and tricky and scary and exciting. I’ll keep you posted. And I’ll keep posting. There will be no shortage of before and after photos. From law to art. This space has a whole personality change a comin’…..

Leave a Reply

